My prompt today was Spock giving Jim a gift.

Spock found him standing next to the window in his favorite section of the observation deck. He was standing so close that his forehead rested upon it. His eyes were closed.

He immediately felt a leap and then a tug in his side where his heart lay. For a moment he wondered if this was the proper moment to approach his captain. But he was unable to leave him this way without an attempt to assist in whatever capacity Jim needed.

Spock walked over and stepped up next to Jim. His captain did not open his eyes, but somehow Spock knew that Jim realized exactly who would invade his personal space in this manner. While it was true that Jim was very tactile, it was also true it was mostly with Spock. And Spock preferred it that way.

He waited patiently, for it was true one had to have much patience with Jim, but eventually he opened his eyes and gazed at Spock with blue blue eyes.

“Hey.”

“I suspected I would find you here.”

Jim straightened then, standing upright as he turned to face Spock. “I wasn’t hiding from you.”

Spock nodded. “I know. You did say you would wait in your quarters.”

“I couldn’t breathe there.”

“If your quarters need to be adjusted for optimal—”

“Spock.”

He looked away from Jim, unable to face such naked emotion. “You are sad.”

“Yes.”

“I find it unacceptable,” Spock said. Because they’d had this conversation about how they should communicate their thoughts, their feelings. And though Spock was not all comfortable with even acknowledging feelings, he knew that Jim was. And had to do so.

Jim made a sound that might have been frustration, might have been distress. Spock switched his gaze to him. “Three men died today. Because of decisions I made.”

“There was nothing you could have done differently. The decisions were logical.”

“It doesn’t matter, Spock. I can’t help being sad. Even if it makes you uncomfortable.” He looked away. “That’s why I came here.”

“Jim,” he spoke softly, because any other way of speaking to Jim when he was like this was not a good idea. “It is unacceptable because it…to see you filled with sorrow torments me.”

He said nothing to this, but he did trace his lips with tongue. Spock was mesmerized. As he was with anything Jim did. It was not logical to feel this intensely for another and yet…logic be damned.

“I do not want to see you this way.”

“Humans grieve. They have to process their emotions, Spock.”

“I am aware. But when you avoid me in this way it generally means you will sink into despondency.” Spock swallowed heavily. “I wish to fix it.”

He moved into Spock’s arms without further cajoling. “You can’t fix everything.”

Spock cradled his head in his hand as he pulled him closer still. “I am working on a solution that will ensure that I can.”

Jim gave a half laugh at that. “Kester was just a kid.”

“I know.”

“It’s fucked up.”

“I know.”

Jim rested his head on Spock’s shoulder. “Why do you put up with me?”

“Because you put up with me.”

Another half laugh. “Yeah.”

“And there is no survival without you,” Spock said in an even softer voice. “While I am sorrowful that they died, it means that you are here, in my arms.”

“One life for three sucks.”

He closed his eyes and breathed in Jim. “The needs of the one—”

“No. Don’t.” Jim pulled back, meeting Spock’s gaze. “Taluhk nash-veh k’dular, ashayam.”

Spock always felt warmer when Jim used Vulcan words. He knew his captain was fluent in Vulcan. His pronouncement was perfect.

Spock framed Jim’s face with his hands. “I have something for you, my James.”

A quizzical smile. “Yeah?”

Spock reached into an inside pocked of his uniform pants. He produced a metal bracelet with Vulcan writing. He carefully placed it on Jim’s wrist. It was a perfect fit.

Jim looked down at it. “These are the words of bonding.”

“Indeed.”

Blue eyes flew to his. “Are you asking me to bond with you?”

“Yes,” Spock replied. “And I will beg if it increases my chances of receiving your positive response.”

Jim grabbed him and kissed him hard. “Spock!”

“Does that mean yes?”

He got a full laugh this time. “Of course it’s a yes. But if you want to beg, I’m okay with that.”

Spock pulled him up against him, squeezing him tightly. He put his lips to Jim’s ear. He felt Jim shiver. “Actually, I was thinking of making you beg.

