Related image

 

Jim felt sorrow through his link with Spock. He looked up from the box he was putting together.

“Spock?”

“In here,” his husband responded in his quiet voice.

Jim went to the kitchen. Spock was holding a delicate pink and white teacup and saucer in his hands.

He went to his husband, put his arm around him and leaned over his shoulder. “What’s that?”

“It belonged to my mother.”

“Your dad had it?”

Spock nodded. “It was her favorite when I was a child. When I first came to the Academy, they lived for about six months here in this apartment. She must have brought it here and never returned it to Vulcan with her.”

“And so it was not destroyed with their house.”

“Affirmative,” Spock said softly.

“It’s so sweet that your dad kept it all this time.”

“It was he who purchased it for her,” his husband explained. “She treasured it.”

Jim smiled slightly as Spock set it down on the counter carefully. “Looks like he did, too.”

Spock turned to look at him. “Yes.”

“Are you okay, honey?”

“Both of my parents are gone now.”

“Yeah.” Jim licked his lips. “I know how hard it is.”

“I thought…it was unexpected.”

Jim took Spock’s hand. “Do you want to go through his stuff another day? Or I could do it, if you’d rather.”

“Perhaps a short break.”

“Come out on the balcony with me. It’s a beautiful evening.” He hooked his arm with Spock’s and led him outside. Where they stood at the railing looking out over the skyline of San Francisco.

“It is pleasant.” Spock sad quietly after a moment.

“Do you want to keep this place?”

Spock shook his head. “I will never want to stay here.”

Jim nodded. Kissed Spock. “What are you thinking, t’hy’la?”

For a moment Spock did not reply, then his gaze met Jim’s. “Of a time when you will be nothing but a teacup to me.”

Jim’s throat closed. He looked away. Tried to joke his way out of it. “I don’t even like tea.”

“Jim.”

He looked back at Spock. Touched his fingertips to  Spock’s cheek. “I know, honey. But we have years. Still. Years.”

“It can all change in only a day.”

“Yeah.” His other hand went to Spock’s side, to feel his heartbeat. “But we have now. I love you.”

Spock pulled him close. He said nothing. And Jim could feel him tremble, so Jim just held him tight.

