Today’s Prompt was a Bad Day at Work

Jim rushed to the medbay on word that Spock and two other crew members had been injured in an explosion. His heart was pounding as he stepped through the doors.

He stopped in his tracks.

Spock sat on a biobed, legs dangling off the edge. Uhura had her arms around his neck.

“Oh, I was so worried,” she said. “I’m glad you’ll be okay.” She kissed him.

“Hey, Jim.”

He turned to Bones. His heart was no longer racing. Bleeding more likely. “Spock okay?”

“Just a little temporary hearing loss,” Bones said, squeezing his arm. He led him over to another two biobeds. “Gregory and Kent took the brunt of it. But they’ll be okay.”

Jim smiled at the two men. “Good to hear. Get plenty of rest and do as the doctor says.”

“Yes, sir,” Gregory said.

Jim turned away and deliberately did not look back at the intimate embrace of his first officer and his girlfriend. “Guess I’m not needed here. I’ll go back to the bridge.”

“What’s wrong, Jim? You look seriously wiped.”

He rubbed the back of his neck. “Nah, it’s nothing. Bad day is all. I didn’t get much sleep. The replicators were broken this morning so I didn’t get breakfast or more importantly, coffee. I got chewed out by Admiral Kowalski. And it’s just been one disaster after another. I should have stayed in bed.” He shook his head. “As if!”

Jim went to the bridge and took his seat. “Ouch! Fuck.” He scrambled out of his chair and saw that he had just sat on his PADD. And now it was tweaked. “Damn it! Who put this in my chair?”

Sulu glanced back at him. “You did, Captain.”

“Great.” He grimaced and gestured to a yeoman that had just stepped onto the bridge. “Get this fixed or replaced or something.”

She took it from him with a sympathetic smile. “Yes, Captain. Sorry about that, sir.”

“Par for the course for today.”

“Would you like some coffee, sir?”

Jim frowned. “They fixed the replicators?”

“No, sir. But I brewed some myself.”

“Fresh brewed?” Jim got vaguely excited. “That would be great.”

She beamed. “Coming right up, sir.”

Jim was pretty happy, thinking at last something good was happening. That was until he tasted the coffee she brought him. It was filled with grounds. He barely refrained from keeping the wince off his face.

“Good, Captain?” she asked.

“Uh, yeah. Thanks. Thank you, Yeoman. You’re a life saver.”

She practically glowed. “If you’d like, I can bring you my coffee from now on.”

“That’s really generous of you. Really. But I can’t put you out like that. We’ll just have to have this as a treat sometime.” He gave her his best smile. One that he’d been told galaxy wide could melt the coldest heart. Never seemed to work on Spock though.

“That would be wonderful, Captain,” she replied. “Thank you. Excuse me, sir.”

Chekov watched her go and then shook his head at Jim. “I could have told you her coffee is the vorst, Keptin.”

“Now he tells me.” He thrust the cup at Chekov. “Get rid of this, will you?”

By the time his shift was over and he finally got to leave, they’d engaged in a battle with a rogue freighter, Sulu had thrown up all over his console, and Jim had gotten a fucking cramp in his leg.

Oh and Uhura had returned to her station with a little hop in her step he did not want to know about.

When he stepped into his quarters, his headache was raging.

There was a message from his mother.

You know you could actually bother yourself with contacting me once in a while. I’m your mother. You’d think you’d care a little bit about all that I sacrificed for you. But no, you don’t give a damn about me. You are so ungrateful.

“Oh, sure,” Jim muttered. “That’s going to get me to contact you right away.” He erased the message.

Then saw the one from Admiral Kowalski.

We’re still not done, Kirk. I will speak with you later.

With his luck, he was probably getting court-marshaled.

He took all of his clothes off and went into the bathroom to take a shower. Only the water wasn’t working. He turned it to sonic. That didn’t work either.

“Fuck this!”

Jim contacted maintenance and they advised him they were ‘aware’ of the problem and were working on it. No estimation of when it would be fixed.

Back in his quarters, he pulled on his favorite pajama bottoms and a T-shirt. As he was putting on the pajama bottoms he noticed a hole along the seam of the crotch.

“Seriously?” Jim groaned and sat on his bed, holding his face in his hands. Maybe if he went to sleep he’d wake up to a better day.

His door buzzed and all he could think was that at least it wasn’t a damn red alert.

“Enter.”

To his surprise, Spock stepped inside, dressed in one of his brown meditation robes.

“Hey.” Then he remembered he was supposed to have hearing loss. “Did Bones release you?” he shouted.

Spock arched a brow. “There is no need to shout, Captain. My hearing has returned to optimal function.”

“Oh. Well, good. Then I guess he did.”

“Indeed.”

“What’s up then?”

“I came to check on you. The doctor said you came by but didn’t wish to interrupt my visit with Nyota.”

Jim nodded. “As you can see, I’m right as rain.”

Spock blinked at that but then he said, “I surmise that is not the truth. You do not look well.”

“Yeah? How so?”

Spock suddenly took several steps closer to him. It didn’t even occur to him to back up like he normally did. “You are paler than is usual. Your eyes are shadowed in darkness. You have fatigue lines around your mouth.”

“Well—”

Spock’s hand rose toward his face. “May I?”

“Uh. Sure?” Jim said, not even sure what he was agreeing to.

Spock’s fingers spread out over Jim’s face like for a meld. “I would ease your stress, Captain. It is painless.”

Jim nodded permission.

He was startled when only seconds later, Spock sucked in an audible breath.

“What?” Jim pulled back as Spock’s hand fell from his cheek.

The Vulcan was now staring at him with wide eyes and flushed cheeks. “You-you desire me.”

“What?”

“You are in love with me.”

“Oh, fuck me. Of course you saw that.  Could this day get any worse? Look, Spock it’s nothing you need—”

His words were cut off by Spock’s lips upon his. Warm and soft and excitingly demanding. Jim clutched at Spock’s robe as he moved impossibly closer. He was panting when Spock ceased the kiss to allow him to breathe.

“Spock, what—”

“I desire you, too.” Spock resumed kissing him. Spock’s hands had slipped down Jim’s back to grasp and hold onto Jim’s ass. Jim moaned into the kiss and pressed closer to Spock.

Jim broke the kiss this time, gulping in air. “But, Spock—”

“I am in love with you.”

This time Jim kissed Spock as Spock’s fingers squeezed his ass through his pajama bottoms. He slipped his hands inside Spock’s robe, feeling bare skin, and nearly fucking coming just touching Spock like this for the first time.

“God,” he said, nibbling Spock’s lips. “This is the best day ever.”

