The conclusion of last week’s Flash Fic. This is the Make-Up

 

Jim went right to his shower when he returned from the mission. Well, after Bones had dismissed him from the medbay. He was sore and sad and wanted to drown in the water spray.

The mission had gone about as expected and there injuries but no fatalities at least. Jim’s injuries were perhaps the worst and even those weren’t that significant considering Bones had allowed him to go to his quarters.

Jim had asked and, after a moment where Bones appeared to be very ready to argue, he’d looked at Jim’s face and acquiesced.

He got out of the shower and pulled on pajama bottoms and a thin T-shirt. He was dog tired and extremely depressed. He missed Spock already and felt like a gigantic ass over their argument now. He’d fucked up. So badly that Spock had ended things between them.

Jim leaned against the wall of the bathroom, trying to fortify himself to face his bedroom alone. After a couple of minutes, he inhaled and exhaled, and then opened the door.

Spock stood there in the middle of his quarters.

Jim swallowed down his panic, his heartache, and took a step forward. “Spock I—”

“Jim.”

All of a sudden Spock moved and they met somewhere in the middle and as Jim reached for Spock, Spock reached for Jim. Their lips crushed against each other and Jim let out a desperate little mewl.

Spock’s arms came around him, holding him tight.

“I love you so damn much,” Jim said wetly against Spock’s throat.

“Ashaya,” he whispered.

“I’m sorry.”

Spock shook his head. “It is I who owe you the apology.” He pulled back and used his hand to tip Jim’s chin back so that their gazes met. “Do you forgive me?”

“Always.” Jim may have hiccupped. “Don’t leave me like that again.”

“I will not,” Spock promised. And he knew he could believe Spock, because his Vulcan would never promise something he would not keep. Spock’s gaze swept over him. “You were injured.” His thumb gently swept across Jim’s split lip.

“Minor.”

“I should have been there.”

“You can’t protect me from everything.”

“I wish to.”

Jim smiled, his heart so much lighter than before. “I know. Will you stay with me? I’m so wiped out I think I’ll be asleep inside five minutes, but…please?”

“I can be nowhere else.” Spock drew him close. “I belong at your side. And I will always care for you.”

Jim closed his eyes as Spock lifted him into his arms as though he weighed nothing and carried him toward the bed. As Spock laid him down, his heart leapt in his chest. His lips curved. “I am gratified.”

