Today’s prompt: A perfect away mission and an experiment gone wrong.

poopsie

 

“God, that was awesome,” Jim declared as he stepped down from the transporter room. “That was one of the best missions yet.”

“Oh, you think so, do you?” Bones asked, his voice laced with sarcasm.

“Sure do. Don’t you?”

“Oh, gee, I don’t know. Maybe you ought to think about why maybe I didn’t think it was so awesome.”

Jim patted Bones’ arm. “The slugs?”

“You might have warned me about them.”

“I forgot.”

“They consider them a delicacy and an honor to offer them to you, doctor,” Spock said from beside them.

“Well, it’s no honor to me.” Bones shuddered. “I think I’m going to have nightmares for years involving a pretty girl coming toward me with a slug caught in tweezers. Ugh!”

Bones rushed ahead of them and out of the transporter room.

Jim smiled at Spock. “Well, I guess I’ll see you later on the bridge, Mister Spock.”

“You are not going there immediately?”

“No, I’m going to get cleaned up in my quarters and file a report on the mission. I should be there within half an hour.”

****

It was much later when Jim was preparing for bed when the chime of his door indicated he had a visitor.

“Come,” Jim called out as he pulled his tank top over his head.

To his surprise, Spock walked in.

“Hey, what can I do for you?”

“Jim.”

He smiled. “Is this a special occasion? You’re calling me Jim.”

“Yes. I…it is an experiment.” Spock took several steps closer.

“Calling me Jim?”

“Negative.” Spock hesitated a moment and then was suddenly up in Jim’s space. “This.”

And Spock kissed him. And kissed him. And kissed him.

“Jesus,” Jim said as Spock went in for his lips again.

He couldn’t breathe.

Wait. He can’t breathe.

Jim shoved Spock away.

His eyes wide, an expression of hurt on his face, Spock stepped back.

Jim pointed to himself, desperately gasping.

“You cannot breath?” Spock guessed.

Jim nodded frantically. And then he was out.

****

He woke lying on his back in sickbay.

“Welcome back, Jim,” Bones declared.

“I’m alive?” he croaked.

“Sure are.” Bones switched the biobed so that Jim was sitting up. Surrounding his bed besides Bones was Spock, Uhura, and Nurse Chapel.

“What happened?”

Bones smirked, looking at Spock. “You’re allergic to Spock.”

“Leonard,” Chapel admonished as Spock turned slightly green. “You’re allergic to Plomeek, Captain. Mister Spock had Plomeek soup for dinner. He still had trace amounts of it in his mouth.”

Spock turned greener still even as Uhura smothered a laugh.

“Oh.” Jim frowned. “Well, that sucks. Does that mean Spock can never eat Plomeek and kiss me at the same time?”

“Pretty much.”

“Fortunately it is not something I am able to have often,” Spock said, his back ramrod straight, his gaze over Jim’s head.

“There’s a shot we can give you if it happens again. Maybe Spock better keep a supply handy if he continues to decide to kiss you.” Bones chortled.

Chapel rolled her eyes. “Come on, let’s leave them alone. You interrupted my date with Ny, so if you don’t mind, I’d like to get on with it.”

The three of them left and it was just Jim and Spock.

Jim smiled. “Well.”

“I apologize for causing you to have an allergic reaction, Captain.”

“That was definitely no fun,” Jim admitted. “But the part just prior to it was.”

Spock arched a brow. “Was it?”

“Perhaps. I think you ought to continue with that experiment of yours,” Jim said with an encouraging smile. “I’m pretty sure you’ll get better results.”

Spock leaned over him, his lips mere inches from Jim’s. “I am a scientist after all.”

