This week I am going to complain a bit. I might take this down at some point but for now this is how I feel.

I put a lot of work into the fanfictions I post on AO3. I spent a good part of my days crafting these stories and trying to get the characters as close to right as I can manage.

Am I perfect? Certainly not. But I try to get my work as error free as possible. Which is a lot more than I can say for many of the fictions on there.

So when I get comments telling me that I have a grammar mistake and that one of the most “off-putting” things in fanfiction is “grammar mistakes” and that I am “better than this” I cannot tell you how that sets my teeth on edge. Relieve yourself of the burden of reading my fictions. And if you think I am kidding, you are wrong. One of the most “off-putting” things in fanfiction is actually you taking the time in your superior way to somehow tell me you are better than me.

You know what? You know squat about me. Squat. So don’t condescend to tell me I am “better than this”.

This kind of crap is exactly why I am sometimes very tempted to delete it all. And it’s always by someone who doesn’t write their own damn fics too.

I am pretty sure this latest person is also the one who told me Spock doesn’t speak in contractions which was a bold faced lie. This is a myth created by the fandom themselves. Go back and watch TOS. Spock spoke in contractions all the time. Watch Wrath of Khan. Spock says, “None that I’m aware of.” Get that? So knock it off.

Yes I am ranting. But let me tell you I haven’t updated in a few days and this kind of crap will not encourage me to do so.

