This is my contemplative face

contemplative

Okay really it’s his, but it works for me.

I’m feeling much the same way he probably is in this shot.

Due to the success of Professor Spock I had decided to write a sequel, Runaway Groom. I thought given the themes of the first story where Jim was uncertain about bonding with Spock, who made his initial disdain for Human Jim very clear, that the sequel would be well received. I didn’t expect it to be be as popular. It’s rare that sequels ever are. But I didn’t expect the crash and burn I got either. I guess the so-called “sequel fatigue” isn’t just for movies.

The truth is, I should have kept it short and sweet. Maybe a one-shot where Spock found Jim quickly and ta-da the end. But I got it in my head that it had to be complicated and I ended up introducing Leonard McCoy Prime and really it just went down from there. I’m not surprised no one cares about it because I don’t even care about it. At this point all I want to do is delete it and call it a failed experiment.

I had plans that they would go to the Nexus and Jim would meet his father there and want to stay and for Spock Jim would be fully bonded with him and not have any doubts and so he’d want to stay. And they’d have to fight to get back to their real lives.

Only I just don’t give a rat’s ass anymore. I really don’t.

And so I want to just make it go away and pretend it never happened.

My contemplative face is do I really just delete it without comment? That’s what I want to do. It’s just not working for me or for readers. I am sure there will be some readers who will be “Oh I liked that story” but for the most part I don’t really believe it will be missed.

So there you have it.

