Okay I got a little more written on this so I figure I will finish it.

The Perfect Partner

“Jim.”

“Jim.”

“Jim.”

“What?!” Jim scowled at Bones who had just shaken him so hard his teeth were still rattling. “What the fuck?”

“What the fuck indeed. I’ve been talking to you for five damn minutes about my needed medical supplies. Are you in there?”

Jim looked away from Bones and down into his coffee cup. After a few seconds he looked back up. “We’ll make Tambian 3 in fourteen hours. They’re waiting with your supplies.”

Bones nudged him. “What’s got you rattled?”

“Do you think I’d make a good Vulcan?” Jim blurted out.

“What? No. Why would you even ask that?”

“No?” Jim lowered his gaze again. “Why not?”

“Because you actually have feelings and a heart. A great big one. What the hell anyway?”

Jim shrugged. “You know how Spock was sprayed by that pollen and became more human for like, I don’t know, ten hours?”

“Uh-huh.”

“He got pretty emotional during that time. Affectionate too.”

Bones snorted. “If this is one of your sex with Spock stories spare me.”

“No, it’s not.” Jim’s gaze rose. “He said some stuff.”

“Like what?”

Jim licked his lips and then took a sip of his coffee. “Nah, it’s nothing.”

“It’s not nothing. What he say? Do I need to challenge him to a duel over your honor or something?”

“Just that he wished I was Vulcan.”

Bones stared at him for a good thirty seconds saying nothing. “Did he say why?”

“Yeah. But there’s more.”

“What more?”

“I think he wants me to be a woman, too.”

Bones actually choked. “Come again?”

“He said he wished I could have babies.” Jim sighed and looked away. “If I was Vulcan and could have babies then I’d be his perfect partner.”

“He said that?”

“Yeah. Something about already being his perfect lover. But if I was Vulcan and could have babies he could contribute to the building of the Vulcan species and still get to keep me and all the elders would approve.”

Bones didn’t speak for probably two minutes. “What did you say?”

“’Oh, yeah, ha ha, wouldn’t that be great?’ And that was the end of it.”

“So why isn’t it the end of it now?”

“Because he wants me to be a Vulcan woman!”

Bones stirred sugar into his coffee. “Far be it from me to defend Spock, but I don’t think he meant anything bad by it. Probably in his screwed by pollen mind what he said seemed perfectly logical.”

“Hmm.”

“This thing between you and Spock is pretty darn new. What, was it like only two weeks since you declared undying love for each other? You’re both still navigating it.”

“One and a half. And we didn’t.”

“Didn’t what?”

“Jesus, Bones. We didn’t declare undying love for each other. Or any other kind.”

“But you do, right? Love Spock. Come on, Jim. It’s so obvious.”

Jim made a face. “Maybe I do and maybe I don’t. But well what am I supposed to do with this information?”

“What?”

Jim sighed. “That I’m not the partner Spock really wants.”

“He didn’t say that, Jim.”

“Practically. I won’t be perfect unless I’m Vulcan and can pop out babies.” Jim deflated. “And I can’t do either of those.”

“On that we are agreed.”

“Should I just let him go?”

“Let him go?”

“Yeah. You know. Just tell him to go to Vulcan and get with a Vulcan woman and do what he needs to do. Or what he wants to do.” Jim bit his lip. “That’s why they broke up.”

“I know. He told me.”

“I don’t want to be selfish. Or much anyway.”

“I’m telling you he was compromised by that pollen.”

“Or because it caused him to be more human, he voiced his true feelings.”

Bones shook his head and closed his eyes. “Why don’t you ask him?”

“He’s been sort of avoiding me.”

“Avoiding you?”

Jim nodded. “Ever since he went back to his logical self. Um. He got a little wild and I think maybe he’s embarrassed.”

“I told you no sex with Spock stories.”

“This is just a teensy one. He told me I needed a daddy and he was my daddy.”

“Oh shut the fuck up, will you? How am I supposed to unhear that?”

Jim laughed. “You asked.”

“I did like hell.” Bones stood up and pushed away from the table. “And go to sleep. You look terrible.”

The smile slipped from Jim’s face and he stared into his coffee cup once more.

